Hormones, birth control and hair, oh my!

July 6, 2008 at 12:27 pm (birth control, hormones, ovaries) (, , )

Due to a whole host of medical issues, my doctor has taken me off Depo Provera. The problem is now they’ve found I have Polycystic Ovaries. Or a polycystic ovary to be correct. This can often result in darker, thicker hair on your face (on top of all the really bad symptoms I mean). For years this not only went undiagnosed, but the depo kept my hair situation at a good level. Now, after being off it for almost a year, the hair on my upper lip is starting to darken and thicken, noticeably.

I hate that I care about this, but I know that everyone else does. So now, do I do something about it, and continually do that for the rest of my life, or do I pretend it’s not there and hand out verbal smackdowns where needed? Or do I ignore my emotional wellbeing and go back on the Depo? I would need to find a new doctor as my current one would refuse to prescribe it for me.

I know I’ll end up ignoring it, but I’m VERY bitter that it’s even an issue. And I wish I was strong enough for it not to be an issue, but I’m not.

Hormons, birth control and hair: why I’m bitter tonight.

3 Comments

  1. nightgigjo said,

    Ah, the overwhelming importance of Teh Femininity Practice. We’re so socialized to concentrate on appearances that our health doesn’t even make it onto the list of Important Things.

    I know I’ll end up ignoring it, but I’m VERY bitter that it’s even an issue. And I wish I was strong enough for it not to be an issue, but I’m not.

    You’re strong enough to look at it, and think about it, and try to fight it. That’s more than many have done; more than I have done about other body hair (I mean, I can always wear long pants and shirts with sleeves!)

    IBTP that women are shamed for the natural state of their bodies.

  2. whyimbitter said,

    hehe nightgigjo I tried so hard not to use ‘IBTP’ in my posts cause I didn’t want to be a copy cat. But the sentiment is there, I promise.

    I went all day without even thinking about it today. I’m proud of that. Given that I never wear make up or do more then put my hair into a ponytail, I think one more instance of me ignoring Teh Femininity Practice shouldn’t stand out too much right?

  3. Cunt « WhyI’mbitter’s Weblog said,

    […] give my body a go at no hormonal birth control for awhile.  Given my recent battles in this area (here and here), I’m sure there will be side effects.  But so far it seems to be ok.  My period […]

Leave a Reply

