When will the arsehats at work stop talking?

August 12, 2008 at 12:07 pm (arsehats, feminism, Giant Babies, idiots, male privilege, office, overheard conversations) (, , , )

Another overheard conversation.

Apparently there’s been a university study that has proven that the group most discriminated against in Australia is middle aged Anglo Saxon males with a mortgage.

Yes folks, apparently this poor privileged group is so trodden upon they are now the most discriminated in the country. Before I interrupted this delightful and intelligent conversation I heard the words ‘government benefits’. Now IF the study was looking for the group that receives the least amount of welfare money from the government, I’m not surprised it found this one. It’s highly possible that’s what the study was, and that the shock jocks simply turned the story into one about discrimination.

When I interrupted the conversation I asked for a link to the study. At this point teammate B* held his hands up and said “don’t shoot the messenger” with a stupid smirk on his face. I rolled my eyes and tried to get back to work, so he followed it up with “have you noticed I haven’t called you ‘babe’ or ‘sweetheart’ in a while?” Because that accomplishment its so deserving of cookies.

Replying that no, actually, I hadn’t noticed as I’ve been busy dealing with the death of a family member produced some satisfaction from the look on his face.

Arsehats.

*profile to come. Same teammate who started the ‘female sports’ conversation.

Leave a Reply

