Families and Funerals

August 25, 2008 at 1:59 am (abuse, personal) (, )

It’s been a long couple of weeks for me. The funeral was a week ago, and was extremely hard. Which is a stupid thing to say because funerals aren’t actually meant to be easy are they? My mum was at her most inappropriate and even managed to get into an argument with my widowed uncle’s neighbour over seating. She also brought up my upcoming trip to Germany loudly to discuss how jealous my cousins are. Totally not the time mother.

I also found out that one of my cousins hit his wife. Apparently he was drunk and trying to leave the house to go to a friends place (where he would be doing drugs) and she grabbed him to stop him and he reached out and ‘accidently’ smacked her. They have a two month old together.  I’m not sure what I can do about this.  I’m trying to spend more time with his wife so that she’s not isolated and alone, but if she wants to write it off as a drunken accident and won’t listen to anything else I’m not sure what else I can do.  If I push too hard she’ll stop talking to me and have less support next time.

Funerals are like big circus’.  The amount of money it costs to put someone into a box and cover them in dirt is ridiculous.  And it’s very hard to argue with grieving family members over the price of the casket they pick out.  And then there were the arguements over which photos to use, which songs to play etc etc.

It’s all just too much and I’m glad to put the worst of it behind me for now.  Of course my family still need support so I’m not totally out of the woods yet.

Leave a Reply

