Dating in High School

October 8, 2008 at 2:05 am (Nigel, personal)

One of the problems I’m finding with breaking up from a 5 year relationship at the age of 21 is that last time I was dating, I was 16.  16!!  Do you have any idea how big the differences are between dating at 16 and dating at 21?  And flirting?  BIG difference.

I know in the grand scheme of things this is a pretty minor problem to have.  I get it.  I’m just saying.

And honestly, going through that does he or doesn’t he crap is ridiculous.  I get the feeling I’m never going to have a relationship again simply because I can’t be bothered.  I don’t have time for games, I don’t have time to practice the typical femininity rituals that seem to go hand in hand with dating, and I refuse to date any arsehat who is not at the very least a feminist ally.  I don’t have time to *convince* the “nice guys” that feminism is something they should be a part of.

So where does that leave me readers?  Well at this point it leaves me in limbo, because I have yet to actually dump Nigel.  And actually, it kind of leaves me in a bad spot, as I’ve already started flirting and doing things you shouldn’t do when you’re in a relationship with another person.  BUT, eventually, it will leave me single for a very long time.

I’m pretty happy not to be in a serious relationship again for a few years at the very least, but the occasional fling might be nice.

Now if I could just stop the flirting and actually get my act together on the moving out/leaving Nigel thing, I might be able to start working on the dating at 21 instead of 16 thing.

Leave a Reply

