Hateful, Ignorant Email

January 22, 2009 at 2:00 pm (arsehats, bullying, emails, idiots) (, , )

I have exactly five and a half shifts left at my current job (not that I’m eagerly counting down every hour I have left here or anything) and I thought I’d clean out my inbox before I go.  Lots of things have been sitting in there for awhile waiting for me to have time to blog them. 

The first is one sent from a senior within my team, which was in fact sent to HIM by a senior from another team (also male), and I feel isolated in disagreeing with it.

I’m posting it below the fold.  If you’re currently on unemployment benefits of any kind and are likely to take offence, please don’t read any further.

Urine test

“Like a lot of folks in this state, I have a job. I work, they pay me.

I pay my taxes and the government distributes my taxes as it sees fit.

In order to get that paycheck, I am required to pass a random urine test, with which I have no problem. What I do have a problem with is the distribution of my taxes to people who don’t have to pass a urine test.

Shouldn’t one have to pass a urine test to get a welfare check because I have to pass one to earn it for them??

Please understand, I have no problem with helping people get back on their feet. I do on the other hand have a problem with helping someone sitting on their ass.

Could you imagine how much money the state would save if people had to pass a urine test to get a public assistance check?????

There were a few variations in the one I received to ‘localise’ it with Australian names, places, etc. Otherwise, it’s the same email.

So, I would hope that anyone reading this blog already knows why I would object to the content of this email. I also hope that anyone already reading here would object to it, too. Just in case though, some thoughts:

Firstly, for the most part the government distributes taxes based on the promises they made before they were elected. There are other influencing factors but, in Australia at least, it’s fairly easy to roughly determine which party will spend on what if elected. They rarely deviate from the party line. So if you vote, you have a say in where your taxes go. Just saying.

Ok, next. not all jobs require a urine test. Mine certainly doesn’t, nor has any other job I’ve held over the years. Admittedly I’m quite young, but from what I’ve seen, urine tests are not actually all that common in most jobs over here. So to the person who sent me this with the tagline ‘I agree!’, you’re an idiot. You can’t agree with the rest of what follows in the email, because you can’t even agree with the basic premise. Stop it.

And to answer the question in the email, NO someone SHOULDN’T have to pass a urine test to get their benefits. The people who are receiving social security benefits are doing so for a variety of reasons and they should not be treated like criminals just to make you feel better.

I’m sorry that your job demands random urine tests off you and you seem to have a problem with this, whatever the email may say. This doesn’t mean you can suggest forced ‘random’ urine tests for people who aren’t as privileged as you are. And yes, by having a job, you ARE privileged. You have the ability, the time and the skills to keep a job. Those are all privileges that not every member of the population has.

Also “helping someone sit on their arse” is such a grossly misleading statement that I’m horrified to think anyone who believes this knows my email address. And thinks it’s appropriate to send me these emails. I hope for their sakes they never find themselves in a situation where they’re dependent on these benefits. They may not know how to cope with the reversal in attitude that they’ll find necessary.

1 Comment

  1. John Cowan said,

    Thank-you for that. You thoughts helped me shape my own response to the same email a co-worker sent me (attributed to a rig worker in New Zealand, of course)

Leave a Reply

