Rules For My New Job

January 29, 2009 at 2:02 pm (office, personal) ()

Tomorrow is my last shift at my current job.  After a week off, I’m moving on to a fresh start at a new company.  I don’t know anyone that works there, and all they know about me is what was said in the interview.  I have a chance to start over, and a chance to not repeat my mistakes.  I also have a chance to head off mistakes from other people before they blow out of control.  So I need a list of rules to follow to keep myself on track.  Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

  1. No friends.  I am happy to be friendly and professional with my colleagues, but no longer willing to be friends with anyone from my workplace.  It doesn’t work, it leads to problems, and it’s not worth the hassle. 
  2. No blogging from work.  There are many different facets to this, but I think it’s enough to leave it as self explanatory for now.
  3. No getting caught up in anyone elses business.  It’s way too easy to get caught up in other people’s dramas and arguments, but it’s not healthy and it’s not helpful and it creates problems.  I’m not going to do it anymore

Those are the three main things I can think of.  Any more experienced people want to add tips in the comments?

Leave a Reply

