Major Disconnect Moment

February 6, 2009 at 8:56 pm (feminism, male privilege, office)

It was a little thing, but still it seemed to make me realise how disconnected I am from (what seems like) the rest of the world.

On my last day at my last job a few of the women were discussing getting ready to go out that night.  I happened to mention that it wouldn’t take me long because I don’t wear make up.  One of the women responded with a girly giggle and said she would ‘totally be doing [my] make up that night’ and the other responded in horror at the idea that I could possibly not wear make up (!).

Can you imagine how horrible I must look if I don’t willing paint my face to look like something other than the way that I look?  Clearly I’m crazy.

Or everyone around me is.  Massive disconnect with reality for me.

Oh and it’s filed under ‘male privilege’ because none of the men that came along had any discussions along these lines.  At all.

Leave a Reply

