A Rant

February 9, 2009 at 7:50 pm (arsehats, personal)

For my 100th post I had something awesome planned.  Instead you get this.

Today was my first day at my new job.  Now this job involves a longer commute, more attention and focus (because it’s new) and more exercise to get to than what I’m used to.  So, summing up, I’m damn tired right now.  I’m also sore.  With all that in mind, I may be overreacting.  Don’t tell me I am because, in the mood I’m in, I’m likely to make you regret saying it.

It occurs to me that if you are truly a friend to someone, you contact them before, during or after big moments in their life.  For instance, if you know a friend is, oh I don’t know, let’s say starting a new job just for example, it’s probably common to wish them luck beforehand, or ask how their day is going in the middle of it, or ask how it went at the end of the day.  If you choose to do none of these things, there’s a problem.

Almost everyone I’d count as a close friend did this.  And by ‘close’ I mean the ones I actually care about, as opposed to the ones that just hang around.  But not all of them did.  I’m alternating between anger, disappointment and humiliation at assuming the silent ones cared in the first place.

So, it’s over.  I’m done.  I’m out.  I’m not doing this anymore.  I’m not going out of my way to remain friends; I’m not going to make myself look like an idiot by putting more effort in than they are; I’m not going to beat myself up about this anymore.  And beyond not going out of my way to put effort in, I doubt I’m even going to respond to any attempts on their part to talk to me.  If they care enough to try at all.

I’m out.

2 Comments

  1. Chally said,

    *waves* Just found your blog via Hoyden. Well, that’s pretty sad but I reckon you’re doing the right thing. All the best at your job. And congrats on your 100th post.

  2. whyimbitter said,

    Thanks Chally 😀

    I’m feeling less sad and more convinced I’m headed in the right direction (but validation is always good too!)

Leave a Reply

