Godbags and Your Ovaries

February 11, 2009 at 9:11 pm (arsehats, bullying, church, feminism, idiots, men hate you, ovaries)

Read this yet?

A few other blogs have tackled this already, but I can’t just sit here silently on such bullshit, so it’s my turn.  (Links at the bottom)  Let’s start the fun shall we?

THE Catch The Fire Ministries has tried to blame the bushfires disaster on laws decriminalising abortion in Victoria, which it says make Australians an “open target for the devil to destroy”.

Just to start with the most obvious error (and I don’t know if this is the fault of the ministries or the paper, but I’m going to mention it anyway), Victoria passing a law does not make all Australians an open target.  It may make Victorians a target, but not Australians.  Second, stupid, stupid thing to say.  I’m so bloody sick of people using massive disasters as a way to justify their political messages.  Knock it the hell off.  Now.

The Pentecostal church’s leader, Danny Nalliah, claims he had a dream about raging fires on October 21

Easy to say afterwards isn’t it?  Hey, speaking of, I had a dream last month that an arsehat godbag would use a disaster as another chance to try and dictate what women can do with their bodies.  Truly I am a prophet from God.

he woke with “a flash from the spirit of God: that His conditional protection has been removed from the nation of Australia, in particular Victoria, for approving the slaughter of innocent children in the womb”.

Another technical issue, women have foetus’ in their wombs, not children.  And if they DO have children in their wombs, innocent or otherwise, I’m sure that constitutes child abuse.  After birth, bodies should not be replaced from whence they came.  Also, is it suddenly ok to kill sinful children, as opposed to innocent ones?

The pastor then said

“I must tell people what they need to hear, not what they want to hear.”

No, douchebag, you need to STFU.  And yes, people, I am being silencing.  He fucking deserves it.  Keep your damn opinions about what I can do with my body to yourself.  I’m not interested.  So zip it.

He quoted a headline describing the fires as “The Darkest hour for Victoria”. “A few months ago the news media should have reported ‘the darkest hour for the unborn’, but unfortunately the ‘Decriminalisation of Abortion bill’ went through parliament and was passed, thus making many people call Victoria ‘the baby killing state of Australia,’ ” Mr Nalliah said.

Which people, outside of his cult, call Victoria that?  Any sources here at all, or just wild hearsay to support your argument?  Yeah I figure I know the answer to that one already.  Another smart arse technical thing again: is any light able to enter the womb?  I don’t think it can?  Wouldn’t that therefore make all hours dark for the unborn?  Abortion, by the way, doesn’t kill babies.  It terminates pregnancies and removes the foetus.  So shut up, douchebag.

And, in all my ‘glorious twistedness’ (as termed by a friend), reading the term ‘darkest hour of the unborn’ brings up images of a b grade horror flick ‘the hour of the unborn’.  Can you imagine?  So many possibilities floating through my head.  Maybe we should get this commissioned.  Could be awesome people..

Lauredhel’s take. Fuck Politeness’ take.

There’s more out there, but I’m too pissed about this to continue reading about it.  If you have a post about it up, leave the link in comments and I’ll update this.

Leave a Reply

