If you don’t like it, leave – forum edition

February 11, 2009 at 9:50 pm (bullying, feminism, Giant Babies, idiots, personal)

My views on this have already been discussed.  See my earlier post for a full outline.  I’m only bringing it up again because a supposed ‘radical feminist’ forum that I am part of has started touting this kind of philosophy.

Is this really as far as we have developed?  That even in radical spaces, we’re still pulling this shit out?  That we can’t even have a discussion about anything that is annoying us without being told to ‘take our ball and go play elsewhere’ (actual quote, for the record.)

This hurts.  I’m sick of finding I don’t belong places because I want some sort of open dialogue and chance to improve on things.  And it hurts more to feel this way about a radical feminist, so called ‘safe’ place than it does about my country of origin by accident of birth.

I guess this is me bringing the ball to my own playground.  Feel free to debate me about it in the comments, I welcome constructive debate here.  If you make it personal, I will use the bug spray or the shoe on you, whichever is closer at hand.

ETA: Click here for some actual specifics on what the hell I’m talking about.

4 Comments

  1. roughseasinthemed said,

    Mine is the long-winded version. 😀

    But we agree. It is sad we can’t have a discussion, or question or challenge assumptions without being told to fuck off

    There must be something positive about the whole scenario, but for the life of me, I don’t see it.

  2. Lisa Winter said,

    i’m am constantly surprised by this problem. even in so called “liberal” forums or feminist forums we spend so much time being defensive and judgmental – how can we learn and grow in this kind of atmosphere. i am amazed by how many women’s groups are this way – if you find a good place for dialogue, please, shout out the location, so we can all go flock there.

    • whyimbitter said,

      I have found an awesomely wonderful place, unfortuntely the only way to keep it like that is to make it a secret. patriarchy wins again right?

  3. Radical feminism? | Clouds moving in said,

    […] For a much shorter and pithier perspective on the same issue – check out WhyI’mBitter’s Weblog Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in […]

Leave a Reply

