Rewriting History

February 19, 2009 at 9:00 am (personal)

I’m hoping this post will serve as something of an apology to any readers who check this blog ‘religiously’, so to speak.

In the last week I’ve deleted two posts that hadn’t been up for very long before being canned. Both were written from an emotional place, and once the light of day dawned, I felt they were foolish things to be publishing here, so I removed them. I’m not a fan of deleting history, and it is in fact one of my pet peeves (logical, given I was a history major). However, I no longer felt comfortable having these two posts on my blog, for various reasons.

I have made it a conscious policy not to delete any posts that have comments on them. This has saved a couple of other posts on here that I no longer feel 100% comfortable having up on in this space. Hopefully in the long run it will mean that I think more before I start typing, but in reality it probably just means I should stop letting* people I know IRL have access to this blog.

Anyway, I’m sure most of you haven’t noticed, or didn’t care much if you had, but it’s a point of personal integrity to me, and it’s been bothering me since I did it. Maybe I’ll be more understanding when people delete their forum posts in future.

*and anyone following at home would know I didn’t “let” any of the ‘real life’ people have access. But given both of them have phrased their reasoning in a way that laid the blame at my feet, clearly it must be my fault.

2 Comments

  1. roughseasinthemed said,

    I don’t agree with rewriting history either (history graduate here) but I think if something is personal and you are uncomfortable with it, there is nothing wrong with deleting.

    This is your space. You should feel comfortable with it.

    • whyimbitter said,

      hehe you had to go one better didn’t you? I’m a major, so you’re a graduate.

      *sighs* will I forever be young pt?

Leave a Reply

