T-Shirts That Prove Men Hate You: Part 2

June 25, 2009 at 11:02 pm (feminism, idiots, men hate you, T-Shirts That Prove Men Hate You)

T-Shirts That Prove Men Hate You

Featured in part 2 is a shirt that I have not actually personally seen in real life.  Which is lucky, for if I ever did see a guy wearing this, I would probably smack him.  Hard.  And then tell him to tell his face to stop banging into my hand.  (makes more sense after the jump, I swear)

men_hate_you

Ok, so before I even start with the specifics on this one, (and I’m truly, honestly, hoping against hope that this top doesn’t even need me to start.  Dear readers, you know enough without me on this one, right??) I’m going to repeat a few questions I was forced to ask in Part 1.  Why are shirts like this ever made?  Is this top really so damn funny to the masses that it needs to [exist]?

Ok, so confession time didn’t work on my last attempt, and that post got no comments despite being my fourth most clicked post.  But, let’s try it again.  How many men (male readers, this means you!) laughed the first time they saw this top?  How many of you can’t see any problem with this top?  How many of you remain unconvinced that there’s something fundamentally wrong with a society that’s selling shit like this?

Alright, this top is demeaning from the very start.  ‘tits’ instead of breasts.  Ladies, there’s your place, you’ve been put in it.  And the caption on the website where you can buy this is “Are you tired of chicks telling you to stop staring at their chest? Then wear this shirt and let them know how you feel. It reads “Tell your tits to stop staring at my eyes”.”  Wow.  Chicks. Tits.  I’m too tired to get into a linguistics essay, so just colour me unimpressed and we’ll move on.

But here’s a suggestion for anyone who is tired of *chicks* telling them to stop staring… STOP STARING.  Honestly, it’s so frakking simple, I think my brain just went to sleep and I’m now able to type without a brain.  ARGH.  Do guys really think we have breasts for them to stare at?  Or that, because someone may have breasts that appeal to them, they have every right to make us feel demeaned, unsafe, and dirty?  Honestly, if you want any chance of walking away from me without getting your arse kicked, DO NOT STARE.

And yeah, you know what? Sometimes my top will be low cut, or tight, or some other adjective that makes you think you have a right to stare.  YOU DON’T.  EVER.  So quit it.

This top doesn’t so much prove men hate you, as that they don’t see you as human.  You are not a full fledged human being with feelings and thoughts and rights.  You are an object for men to stare at, and therefore they are allowed to be angry at you if you do not fully appreciate the staring.  As far as I’m concerned, it’s close enough to fit the category.

2 Comments

  1. yesi'mfemale said,

    Why is this shirt made? – People find it funny. Not all people, but some. Therefore it sells.

    Is this shirt so damn funny that it needs to exist? – Probably not. Most things aren’t. Your favourite TV shows or movies probably aren’t so great that they need to exist either. But they do. Because there’s a market for them.

    I did not laugh, but I smiled. I do not see any MAJOR problem with this top (other than the fact that everything offends somebody). I do not see that there is anything fundamentally wrong with this society.

    I think that to take this post seriously, I would need to read an argument for the position that ‘This top doesn’t so much prove men hate you, as that they don’t see you as human. You are not a full fledged human being with feelings and thoughts and rights. You are an object for men to stare at, and therefore they are allowed to be angry at you if you do not fully appreciate the staring’

    The top only provides evidence (as if we need more) that some men like looking at breasts. To prove that they all regard women as inferior because they wear this shirt, you would somehow need to show that there is a connection between looking at breasts and hating women.

    I would be interested to hear about this, but I doubt that you could make a solid argument that stands up to reason, not just the prejudice that all men are pigs.

  2. Emptying my Bookmarks Menu « WhyI’mbitter’s Weblog said,

    […] long after posting this, I came across Chally’s response to this other post.  Thought it was an interesting post and […]

Leave a Reply

